Wandiga Elected as the New JKUSA Chairperson

Student casting his vote during the election

Wandiga Fidel Newton, a third-year student at the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources (COANRE), has been elected as the new chairperson of the Jomo Kenyatta University Students Association. He will be deputized by Njeri Melody Wairimu a second-year student in the School of Law after they emerged winners in the highly competitive student election.

With a total of 55 votes, Wandiga edged out his nearest challenger, Ofula Christopher Aswani who had 54 votes. The results were formally declared on Tuesday, February 27, 2024, by Dean of Students, Prof. Fridah Wanzala who was also the Chief Returning Officer of the JKUSA Electoral Commission.

Kathungu M. William clinched the Academic Affairs Secretary post with 126 votes, trouncing his opponent, Onyango Anthony Odondi, who got 22 votes. Mulinge Glory Karimi won the Health, Catering, and Accommodation Secretary position, garnering 84 votes against his competitor, Amina Salim Saleh’s 41.

The new Finance Secretary will be Ochieng Kevin Muga who floored his opponent, Kiplimo Brian, garnering 92 votes against 28 votes. The Secretary-General position saw Gichangi Timothy Gitonga elected unopposed.

Some of the students celebrate after the election results were released.

On the other hand, the various JKUAT campuses also elected their top student leadership. The Karen Campus will now be headed by Bravo Glen who will be deputized by Murerwa Vanessa Kawira, Kitale Campus will be headed by Katenya Brian Juma deputized by Muyekho Anne Nabalayo, Kisii CBD Campus will be headed by Bernard Kaunda deputized by Deborah Cheptoo, Mombasa CBD Campus will be headed by Yusuf Adhan Asman deputized by Otieno Shila Wangare, Nakuru CBD Campus will be headed by Kolian Mateu deputized by Gisore Philigon B. and Nairobi CBD campus will be headed by Nigel Odinyo Nyakal deputized by Daywa Cindy Kajaira.

The Council Elections marked the apex of an intricate electoral journey that commenced with nominations, candidate validation, and congress and delegate elections, ultimately drawing to a close on February 27th, 2024.

After announcing the results, Prof. Wanzala praised all individuals who participated in the election process, stating that all parties played a critical part in ensuring that the entire process was successful.

“Thank you again to everyone who helped make our student elections successful. Your devotion and enthusiasm are a monument to the strength of our university community, and I look forward to seeing the good impact of our collaborative efforts in the days and years ahead,” Prof. said.

The new officials will be sworn into office, March 11, 2024, in an inauguration ceremony that will be conducted by the University’s Chief Legal Officer. Thereafter, the congress, which is composed of the executive, student council of the main campus and council of satellite campuses, Schools, Halls and non-residential representatives, will hold its first sitting on the same day and elect the speaker of the house.

Comments are closed.