Varsity Statutes to be reviewed

Plans are underway for the University to develop new Statutes to replace existing rules that have been in force since 1994, when JKUAT assumed university autonomy, to align them with the recently enacted Universities Act 2012. And to this end, the Vice Chancellor Prof. Mabel Imbuga has called on Senate members to participate in the drafting of the new rules expected to spell out the functions of the various organs of the university.

Prof. Kamar, Minister MoHEST (second left), Prof. Imbuga (centre) and Hon. Mwatela (second right) admire mineral germs during a training workshop for small scale mining artisans

The Vice Chancellor who was speaking during the 49th session of University Senate, Thursday March 21, 2013, appealed to the dons to familiarize themselves with the provisions of the Universities Act 2012 and the corresponding JKUAT Charter aimed at enhancing their teaching and research activities.
She challenged the dons to place more emphasizes on the research function, encouraging teaching departments and individual researchers to seek for increased collaboration with industry and pledged her administration’s support.

She informed the Senate of her recent successful foreign trips, citing the visit to Australia, last February that she said led to the sealing of Memorandum of Understanding between JKUAT and Curtin University that would promote increased training and research mainly in Mining and Mineral processing engineering and related disciplines.

A session of senate

The agreement, Prof. Imbuga noted, was expected to boost JKUAT capacity building in training and research in the Department of Mining and Mineral Processing Engineering through the dispatch of adjunct professors from the Australian university to take up teaching and research tasks at JKUAT during the September –December semester.

Prof. Imbuga as well announced the restructuring of the Corporate Communications office and urged varsity staffers to involve the office in their activities.

The Senate too had a number of items discussed in its agenda; including; the establishment at the University of four new colleges- College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, College of Pure and Applied Sciences and JKUAT Karen College.

Comments are closed.