Schools Elect New Deans

Prof. Dianga

The Schools of Architecture and Built Sciences, Medicine, Biomedical Sciences, Pharmacy and Public Health have elected Prof. Stephen Dianga, Dr. Reuben Thuo, Prof. Daniel Kariuki, Dr. Alex Muriithi and Prof. Simon Karanja as their new Deans respectively. The five deans will serve their respective Schools  for the next two years.

Prof. Karanja

The elections held from January 15 – 19, 2018 saw Prof. Dianga, Prof. Karanja and Dr. Thuo retain their respective deanship unopposed. Dr. Muriithi, also elected unopposed, replaces Dr. Jocelyn Kamau. Prior to his election, Dr. Muriithi served as the Chairman of Pharmaceutical, Chemistry and Pharmaceutics Department.

Prof. Kariuki

The School of Biomedical Sciences witnessed a tightly contested election that saw Prof. Kariuki emerge tops with 15 votes, beating his opponent, Prof. Naomi Maina who garnered 14 votes. Prof. Joseph Gikunju, the third contestant in the race got 5 votes. Prof. Kariuki succeeds Dr. Joseph Ng’ang’a who has been appointed to the Kiambu County Executive Committee in-charge of Education, Culture and Social Services.

Dr. Thuo

The five Deans thanked their colleagues for granting them the opportunity to serve them. They acknowledged that the task ahead would come with challenges but they were confident that with teamwork and professionalism, they were up to the task and promised to work hard to fulfil the mandates of their respective  Schools.

Dr. Muriithi

Deputy Registrar Academic Affairs and the Returning Officer of the elections, Mr. John Kamau who represented the Registrar Academic Affairs, Dr. Esther Muoria, congratulated the new Deans and urged them to embrace team spirit and actively participate in the Schools activities for the betterment of the University. He in turn assured them of the Academic Affairs Division’s support during their tenure.

Comments are closed.