Safaricom Donates Computers to JKUAT

The winning trio recieves the trophy from Prof. Imbuga (left) and Ms. Josephine (right) as DVC Finance, Prof. Otoki Moirongo (back) witnesses

The winning trio receives the trophy from Prof. Imbuga (left) and Ms. Josephine (right) as DVC Finance, Prof. Otoki Moirongo (back) witnesses

Safaricom Ltd. Monday 4, 2015 presented six desk top computers to the School of Computing and Information Technology (SCIT). The donation was in appreciation of three JKUAT students who jointly won the Safaricom Technovation Challenge, 2014 Edition. The three BSc Computer Science female students: Nancy Adhiambo, Caroline Kimathi, and Pauline Mbabu developed a mosquito repellent application dubbed Quit Mosquito.

Safaricom’s senior engineer in charge of transmissions and IP support, Josephine Ndambuki who presented the computers to JKUAT commended the students for their applied creativity and innovation that saw them beat other 300 contestants to win the challenge.

She further lauded JKUAT for its hands-on approach to teaching which had made its students stand out from the competition.

Caroline Kimathi who spoke on behalf of the trio said their application employs ultrasonic sound frequencies to cause stress to mosquitoes, hence keeping them at bay. The App, which she said is free, is now available on the Safaricom App Store.

Prof. Imbuga receives one of the computers during the ceremony

Prof. Imbuga receives one of the computers during the ceremony

While receiving the computers, Vice Chancellor, Prof. Mabel Imbuga thanked Safaricom for the donation, saying it will foster ICT teaching at the school. Prof. Imbuga said JKUAT and Safaricom have had a beneficial cooperation in training and research in thematic areas.

Safaricom Technovation Challenge is a technology and entrepreneurship programme and competition targeting young women. In the programme, participants working in teams develop mobile applications and pitch their innovations to potential investors.

The brief ceremony which saw the students awarded a trophy; was witnessed by the four JKUAT deputy vice chancellors, Principals of colleges and campuses and deans of schools and faculties.

Comments are closed.