SABS Awards Outstanding Students and Faculty

Sylvia Wangu takes faculty members and her fellow students through her project

The School of Architecture and Building Sciences (SABS) has awarded three students from the School who are pursuing  Bachelor of Architecture degree for their outstanding architectural portfolios.

Kevin Kithome who is in his 3rd year of study claimed the top prize, while Edmund Kipng’etich,  in third year of study came second, as Ian Mahinda, a 5th year student came third.

The three winners were selected and endorsed by both internal and external examiners following their excellent work in their architectural portfolio examinations.

Kevin walked away with Ksh. 20,000 while Edmund and Ian bagged Ksh. 12,000 and 8,000 respectively.

Kelvin (right) receives his awards from Dr. Ndiritu. Looking on is Arch. Nadi

SABS also awarded top performing female students in the same category who had impressive portfolios.

Salma Bajaber (5th year) came first, while Faith Chebet (6th year) was second, and Stephanie Cherotich (1st year) closed the top three. Salma, Faith and Stephanie were awarded Ksh. 10,000, Ksh. 7,000 and Ksh. 5,000 respectively.

During the ceremony, Jeremy Beggi (5th year) was recognized as the all-rounded student of Architecture.

It was also revealed that students in SABS had also taken up the initiative to award the best lecturers by voting through an online platform.

Arch. Nicholas Onyango was awarded by the students for being the Most Hands-on Lecturer while Arch. Makan Evans was awarded for being the Most Inspiring Lecturer.

During the build up to the awards ceremony, SABS provided a platform for top two students in each year, who were selected by internal examiners to exhibit their work to their peers and staff to serve as a benchmark for student’s as they do self-assessment.

Salma (left) is awarded by Dr. Kibue

Speaking during the award ceremony, Wednesday, June 16, 2021, the Principal of the College of Engineering and Technology (COETEC) where SABS is domiciled, Dr. Hiram Ndiritu, lauded the good work being done by the faculty of the School.

He encouraged students to embrace inter-disciplinary approach while doing their projects in order to add value to their output. He urged them to also work closely work with the University’s Intellectual Property in order to protect their work from piracy.

Dr. Ndiritu challenged the students to always work on sustainable projects rooted on the creation and responsible management of a healthy built environment based on resource efficient and ecological principles.

In his remarks, the Dean, SABS, Prof. Gerryshon Munala, noted that architecture is team work noting, “In order to prosper in the dynamic job market, you need to be practically grounded and be able to work effectively, think critically and reflect on how to relate with your colleagues and customers.” The Dean was represented by  Mr. Marcan Masudi,  who is the Departmental Chair of Construction Management.

Arch. Onyango (right) receives his award from a student representative

The Chairman, Department of Architecture, Arch. Hashim Nadi thanked all students and staff members for the good performances in the School which he attributed to team spirit and concerted efforts.

Arch. Nadi reported that plans were underway to make the awards ceremony an annual event while also seeking partners in the industry to make the occasion acquire greater profile and visibility.

He expressed his gratitude to all the SABS faculty who made contributions towards the success of the award ceremony.

Other speakers at the function included; Dr. Susan Kibue, Arch. Juma Oino, Prof. Crispino  Ochieng, Dr. Arch. Noel Omollo Okello among others from SABS.

Comments are closed.