JKUSO Elections: Students Vote in new Team of Leaders

After two weeks of grueling campaigns to woe potential voters conducted by aspirants for various Jomo Kenyatta University Students Organaization (JKUSO) positions, the students’ fraternity finally cast their votes, Tuesday, October 23, 2012 in various JKUAT campuses to elect the 2012/13 new students leaders.
Campaigns for JKUSO elections at Juja Main Campus climaxed in the election of a new team of students’ representatives led by Chairman, Halake Guyu who garnered 3104 votes trouncing his only rival, Kelvin Mathenge who registered 2328 votes. The new Vice Chairman is Martin Mwangi who garnered 2919 votes, defeating his only aspirant Sam Nyamau by 407 votes.

The coveted position of Secretary General that attracted four aspirants, the highest number of contestants was clinched by Edwin Jalang’o who emerged with 1662 votes, narrowly defeating his closest rival Felix Kipkalya by 19 votes. The other two contenders; Maurice Gitari and Dennoh Mumoh, garnered 717 and 1467 votes respectively.

The new Academic Secretary is Susan (Sue) Njoki who romped home with 2749 votes against her two rivals Vincent Ogembo and Davis Fundi who received 1245 and 1520 votes respectively. The Finance Secretary post was clinched by Karumbi J. Murithi who garnered 3195, beating Tedd Rimbere, the only other contender for the position who got 2221 votes.

The Catering and Accommodation Secretary is Fridah Kibet who garnered 2329 votes beating two of her rivals Janerose Wanjiru and Anne Maingi who received 2040 and 1075 votes respectively.The position of Entertainment Secretary was a contest between Eric Mageto and Apunda D. Oluoch with the former carrying the day with 2845 votes. Brian Owino is the new Games and Sports Secretary after emerging tops in the contest which attracted Kijuba Kidum and Stephen Kyalo.

The battle for the position of External Affairs Secretary was clinched by Daisy Matete who obtained 3926 votes in a contest that pitted her against Obed Mokaya, who came in second with 1391 votes.
The run-up to the students poll was preceded by a schedule of activities which kicked off early July, 2012 with the invitation of applications for electoral commissioners and clerks; interviews and appointments of commissioners and clerks; nominations of candidates; vetting of candidates; publication of the qualified candidates; and campaigns in all JKUAT campuses.

According to the Ag. Dean of students, Mrs Emma Omulokoli, the swearing- in ceremony for all elected officials will be presided over by the Vice Chancellor on a date to be confirmed. The new JKUSO leadership will also undergo training. A comprehensive coverage of JKUSO elections outcome will be carried in the October- December Issue of the Agritech News magazine.
The University wishes to congratulate all the students’ fraternity for exercising their democratic right in a mature manner.

Comments are closed.