JKUSA 2020/2021 Officials Elected

A jubilant Somo is hoisted by supporters after winning the JKUSA Chairmanship

Abdulahi Somo Mubarak is the Chairperson elect of the Jomo Kenyatta University Students Association (JKUSA), deputized by Edna Njoki Kariuki. This follows a convincing defeat he dealt his only opponent, Edward Kimonye Mutuma, alias Eddy Tush, who garnered 69 votes cast by the delegates, against Mr. Somo’s 138.

Chants of ‘Somo na Masomo’ by jubilant supporters rent the air the instant it became apparent that the third year student of Quantity Survey had carried the day. He will be taking office from the outgoing JKUSA Chairperson, Mr. Clinton Osoro. The Council elections were peacefully held, Tuesday, February 25, 2020 at the University Assembly Hall.

The position of Secretary General was clinched by Vincent Kangethe Mumbi, who garnered 113 delegates votes, trouncing his opponents, Bundi Morgan with 78 votes, and Caleb Ndiwa with 16 votes. One of the most hotly contested seats, the Health, Catering and Accommodation Secretary, was clinched by Florence Cherotich who had a vote of confidence from 137 delegates, against her rival’s 70, Carolyne Atieno.

The new Finance Secretary will be Wahito Francis Kigo who floored his opponent, Lucky Mwangangi Mutinda, by 143 to 63 votes. The candidates for the positions of Academic Secretary and the Sports and Entertainment Secretary went unopposed. William Okara Onkoba, and James Sifuna Khaemba will be the new occupants of those offices respectively.

A delegate casts her vote at the JKUSA Council Elections 2020

In the same breath, the various campuses of the Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) also elected their top student leadership. The Karen Campus will now be headed by Otieno Austin who will be the new chair, in a hotly contested seat that he won by 86 votes. His opponents Caleb Kipyegon and Ayako Tobias garnered 76 and 42 votes respectively.

The postion of Health, Catering and Accommodation Secretary for Karen Campus was clinched by Grace Joy Ngumi who beat her rival, Ivy Biwott by 162 to 42 votes. Both Mombasa, Kitale and Kakamega campuses had all their candidates go unopposed.

The Council Elections was a culmination of an elaborate electoral process which started with nominations, verification of candidates, Congress and Delegates elections, which took place on 13th February, 2020, quickly followed by public debates by the contestants for top Council positions.

Shortly after declaring the results Tuesday evening, the Chief Returning Officer of the JKUSA Electoral Commission, Rev. Dr. James Wakaba, who is also the Dean of Students, expressed his unequivocal confidence in the process.

“I’m very glad the electoral process has concluded without a hitch, and with utmost transparency. I sincerely thank the commission for professionally and competently overseeing the elections, and the students for conducting themselves with civility throughout this process,” he remarked.

Elections results for congress being read

The new officials will be sworn into office, March 9, 2020 in an inauguration ceremony that will be conducted by the University Chief Legal Officer. Thereafter, the congress, composed of 30 Schools and Halls Representatives, will hold its first sitting on the same day and elect the speaker of the house.

Contestants for the position of speaker are Evans Otieno Omondi, and Fred Odera Christopher. The slot for the Deputy Speaker stands unopposed, and will be occupied by Debra Atieno Obondo. The officials will then proceed for a three-day leadership training, before they embark on delivering their mandate to the comrades.

Comments are closed.