JKUAT Staff recognized for posting excellent work results

Thirteen enthusiasts drawn from a cross section of JKUAT workforce were recently decorated and recognized for exhibiting excellent core values, ethics and qualitative competency in their work places following the analysis and conclusion of the 2007 /2008 staff appraisal exercise conducted last year.  Presenting certificates of commendation and a token of Shs. 10,000/= to each front runner at a brief ceremony at the end of Senate meeting, Thursday 2, 2009, the vice chancellor Professor Mabel Imbuga urged the entire JKUAT staff fraternity to embrace the emerging performance procedures that she said were essential in the promotion of efficient service delivery to JKUAT customers who were mainly students.

The 2007/2008 appraisal was conducted under the 360 degrees system in which an employee is appraised by four people who must include one’s senior, and subordinate. One has also to assess himself besides being subjected to another evaluation from a staffer of the same ranking. The appraisal was categorized into six different rankings ranging from Excellent 1 and 2, Very Good, Fair and poor. The thirteen top scorers were ranking under Excellent 1 while 50 other staffers were graded under Excellent 2. Another 336 and 209 workers were captured under very good and good segments.

The 2009 /10 staff appraisal was already underway and is being conducted using PAS system which is performance based and tied to the strategic commitments of the university enumerated in the Institution’s strategic plan.

The top 13 excellent staffers are:

1. Prof. Romunus Odhaimbo Acting Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic Affairs) and Associate Professor, Department of Statistics
2. Dr. Ronald Mwangi Lecturer, Institute of Computer Science and Information Technology
3. Mrs. Angela Njuguna Secretary, Vice Chancellor’s office
4. Prof. Eric Mwachiro Assoc Prof. Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences
5. Dr. Muniru Tsanuo Snr Lecturer Department of Chemistry
6. Mr. Henry M. Humpreys Snr Lecturer Department of Statistics
7. Prof. Zipporah Ng’ang’a  Associate Prof. Department of Medical Lab Sciences
8. Ms. Mercy Githua Lecturer Department of Chemistry
9. Mr. William Kiptoo Chepkoi Snr. Registry Clerk
10. Mr. John G. Githiri Tutorial Fellow, Department of Physics
11. Ms. Magdaline M. Waithaka Copy Typist, Department of Chemistry
12. Prof. Erick O. Rang’ondi Snr. Lecturer, Department Chemistry
13. Dr. Onditi Ouma Anam Snr. Lecturer, Department of Chemistry

Comments are closed.