Dr. Kiptala Elected SCEGE Dean

Dr. Jeremiah Kiptala

On a day when the world waited with bated breath for the United States Presidential elections results, four dons battled for the hotly contested deanship of the School of Civil, Environmental and Geospatial Engineering (SCEGE).

Emerging the winner was Dr. Jeremiah Kiptala with 14 votes out of the 37 votes cast, followed closely by Prof. Hunja Waithaka with 12 votes. Dr. Charles Kabubu came third, garnering 9 votes, with Dr. Thomas Ngigi coming fourth with 2 votes.

In his acceptance speech, Dr. Kiptala called upon the School to work as a team and affirmed his commitment in ensuring that the School soars to greater heights. His first order of business will be to undertake a curriculum review of the programmes offered in the school to ensure that they are at per with the needs of the industry.

His fellow contestants vowed to support him as he embarks on delivering on the mandate of the office. Collectively as a School, they will focus on collaborative research and escalate the outputs for the betterment of the community.

Dr. Kiptala, a registered and practicing Civil Engineer with the Engineers Board of Kenya, was once the Chairman Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering for a period of four years. He holds a Ph.D degree in Water Resources Management from the Delft University of Technology and a Masters Degree from UNESCO-IHE Netherlands.

Congratulating the new Dean, the Returning Officer and Ag. Registrar Academics, Dr. Aggrey Wanyama, asked him to discharge the duties and responsibilities of the office with dedication and commitment and wished him well. The brief declaration of the election results was also witnessed by staff from SCEGE.

Comments are closed.