About Us

The Department of Physics is one of the three departments in the School of Mathematics and Physical Sciences (SMPS), College of Pure and Applied Sciences (COPAS), JKUAT.  One of its main objectives is to bridge the technological gap for industrialization in Kenya.
The Department of Physics offers research oriented academic education. Core Physics courses include: Quantum Theory, Statistical Mechanics, Atomic, Nuclear, Particle and Condensed Matter Physics as well as Electronics are offered.  Optional advanced courses and seminars are offered in Experimental Physics, Earth Sciences, Energy and the Environment and other courses that may change from time to time.   The B.Sc. Programme runs for 8 semesters.  However, the B.Sc. (Physics) students are not directly admitted to the department until third year of study, subject to the fulfilment of the requirements for Physics department.  The minimum requirements to enter the Faculty of Science are outlined in clause 1.2 of the entry requirements for JAB students, while those of the department of Physics are contained in clause 1.3.