The BSc Nursing programme was mounted in the University in August 2011 under the former Institute of Tropical Medicine and Infectious Diseases and now College of Health Sciences. In July 2014, the Department of Nursing was created under the School of Medicine. The programme is regulated by the Nursing Council of Kenya and it extends over four (4) academic years.

Training of nurses is unique in many ways. Apart from classroom training and laboratory practicals, there is supervised clinical learning which helps the learners to integrate theory with clinical practice. The learners are placed in various designated training hospitals and they rotate in various clinical specialties (Medical, Surgical, Pediatrics, Obstetrics, Gynecology, Psychiatry, Out- patient, Casualty and Emergency care, intensive care, Operating theatre, Burns unit, Oncology and Primary /community health care facilities.

The curriculum is designed in a way that it integrates the biomedical, behavioral, social and clinical sciences. Due to the congested nature of the programme, it has been designed to run on a trimester system. The department has four thematic areas which include: general nursing, midwifery, community health nursing and management, leadership, nursing education and research.