Pension Scheme

The University operates a Pension Scheme which all members of staff appointed on permanent terms are required to join. For other staff the Pension Scheme is not compulsory unless otherwise specified in the member of staff’s letter of appointment. Where appropriate, the letter of appointment may provide for compulsory membership of other Pension schemes approved by the Council from time to time in lieu of this Pension scheme.

The rates of contribution by the University and the employee, and the benefits payable to the members are in accordance with the existing Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) Staff Retirement Benefit Scheme, Trust Deed and Rules and the Retirement Benefits Act and the Regulations.