Coast Region Gets First Chartered University

Wednesday January 30, 2013 will go down in the annals of history for the Coast region as it marked the end of a long time demand for a University with the award of Charter to Technical University of Mombasa (TUM), making it the first fully fledged University ever from the region to attain the status.

Prof. Imbuga delivers JKUAT’s goodwill message to TUM flanked by Chancellor, Prof Gichaga and Council Chairman, Dr. Aukot.

At a colourful ceremony held at the University’s lower pitch grounds, the President Mwai Kibaki hailed Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology for mentoring the Technical University as a constituent college for the past five years.

Outlining the importance of the new University Act 2012, the President stated that it among other things; marked the beginning of a new chapter for tertiary and higher education that was meant to ensure that relevant and quality education was given to all. He said both the Constitution and Vision 2030 recognized the importance of innovation and technology and urged all Kenyans to keep pace with the global challenges.

Ag. VC Chancellor TUM, Prof. J.K.Z Mwatelah raising the Mace before the congregation during the award ceremony.

The President urged the locals in the region to take maximum advantage of the institution by ensuring that they enrolled students in large numbers, challenging the TUM to continue the drive for technology and innovation by ensuring that it benchmarked with the best in the world.

In her address, the Minister for Higher Education, Science and Technology, Prof. Margaret Kamar reminded the congregation that 15 Universities will be awarded their charter before the end of March, a move that would increase access to higher education in the country.

The inauguration ceremony was also addressed by the area MP (Changamwe) who is also an Assistant Minister for Environment, Mr. Ramadhan Seif Kajembe, TUM’s Chancellor Prof. Douglas Odhiambo, the Vice Chairlady of TUM’s Council Eng. Mrs Roseline Ambasi Jilo, and the Chairman, Commission for University Education, Prof. Ezra Maritim.

Prof. Gichaga, Dr. Aukot, Prof. Imbuga, and Prof Douglas Odhiambo sharing a light moment with Prof. Shaukat Abdirazak, Executive Secretary, National Council of Sciences and Technology at TUM

Others present were JKUAT Chancellor Prof Francis Gichaga, the new JKUAT Council Chairman Dr. Ekuru Aukot, former Chairman Eng. Julius Riungu and the Vice Chancellor Prof. Mabel Imbuga, among other Universities’ Chancellors, Chairmen, Vice Chancellors, Principals and the provincial administration.

TUM was started as Mombasa Institute of Muslim Education (MIOME) in 1948. It became the Country’s second polytechnic after the Kenya Polytechnic in Nairobi (Now Technical University of Kenya after getting its charter early January 2013) in 1972. Since 2007, Mombasa Polytechnic University College had been running as a Constituent college of JKUAT, transforming to becoming Coast region’s engineering and technology hub.

Comments are closed.