JKUAT Decides

Students Voting

Students Voting

The much awaited Jomo Kenyatta University Students Association (JKUSA) election were held on Thursday, February 25, 2016. Hundreds of students thronged polling stations as early as 7 a.m. to exercise their civic duty. This is the first election held under the new JKUSA Constitution that was promulgated on November, 2015.

In Kisii CBD Campus there were only three (3) seats being garnered for namely; The Governor, Secretary General, and the Finance Secretary. The post of the Governor went unopposed while one the rival competing for the sit of Secretary General stepped aside for the much preferred candidate Benjamin Maina. The much fought for seat was the post of the Finance Secretary which elicited much interest from the rival camps; but Dancan Mairura trounced his opponent by garnering (157) votes against his only opponent and rival Vincent Mang’abo who got (57) votes.
On the other elections the presidential race fielded five (5) contestants, Anyungu Wanyungu and his running mate Maimuna Mohamed Osman garnered (2999) votes routing his rivals George Kamau (GK) (1578), Rotich Robert Kipkemboi (1569), Job Oyaro Anyona (1548) and Kiso Andrew Kamwende (86). The Deputy President is Damaris Wambui Waiganjo who trounced her only rival Seif Obed who dropped out of the race.

The two horse race of the Secretary General was won by Joel Onono who garnered (4173)IMG_20160225_094242 votes while Benson Mucheri had (3539) while the Finance Secretary seat was secured by Bonface Tumaini Bundi defeating Martin Macharia Ngari and David Makiya who had (2600) and (2033) respectively. Clement Kiplangat Cheruiyot emerged the top in the Academic Secretary position beating his only rival Robinson Omondi Asman by (1604) votes while Ageya Stella Awour garnered (5559) votes clinching the External Affairs Secretary beating her rival Maxwell Aloo Mbembe who had (2087).

The new elect team will be sworn in on a date to be confirmed early March, followed by a training programme for the new student leaders. With the kind of voter turn-out, the Dean of Students, Emma Omulokoli, commended the students for exercising their democratic IMG_20160225_094412right in a mature and organized manner and wished the new elected leaders well in their endeavors.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *