BABAROA and VC Award Recipients 2010

The JKUAT Babaroa Prize awards have become an academic year event since its inception 13 years ago in 1996. The purpose is to recognize top academic performers and at the same time motivate other students to climb up the academic ladder. This has consequently led to increased competition, improved quality of education and identification of the best academic performers to the prospective employers who utilize the quickest opportunity to employ them.

The Babaroa Prize which comprises cash prizes worth Kshs.10, 000.00, a trophy and a certificate to the beneficiaries is a project of Babaroa Trust Fund initiated by over 180 pioneering Japanese professionals led by Prof. Horoji Nakawaga who specifically participated in the establishment, implementation and growth of the Jomo Kenyatta College of Agriculture and Technology; the precursor of JKUAT under the Technical Cooperation Agreement between the goverments of Kenya and Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA).

However, the Babaroa awards were initially very specific and targeted rewarding students from the pioneering departments in the faculties of Agriculture, Engineering and School of Architecture and Building Sciences then enjoying JICA funding.  Nevertheless, the Fund was later extended to cover the students in the Faculty of Science and those in the Institute of Computer Science and Information Technology.

It must be however noted that the implementation of the Babaroa Trust Fund left a considerable number of students in the emerging new programmes occassioned by the tremendous expansion of the University uncatered for.  Consequently and to cater for the additional students, the University Council in 2001/2002 Academic Year inaugurated the Vice Chancellors Award scheme wholly funded by the University.

The 2009/2010 academic year award ceremony is scheduled for Tuesday, November 23, 2010 at the University Assembly Hall from 2.30 p.m. This is to invite parents/guardians of recipient students and other stakeholders to grace the occasion.

JKUAT wishes to acknowledge and appreciate our other donor friends who have continued to assist our poor students through their contributions to the bursary fund such as USAID, respective CDF, Ministry of Higher Education Science and Technology and in particular, The Rattansi Educational Trust Fund is one such fund that has continued to support needy government sponsored students that benefits an average of 400 students per year.  In addition, the Trust Fund has also directly awarded several individual needy students by allocating a total of Kshs.366, 302/= this academic year.

In addition, our deepest gratitude goes to the Joe B. Wanjui Education Trust Fund that has also greatly encouraged needy, outstanding female students studying science in the University by awarding them a cash prize of Kshs.20,000/= each.

We also recognize our own School of Architecture and Building Sciences (SABS) for successfully negotiating similar awards with BASCO Products Kenya Ltd, who have committed a total of Kshs.140, 000 annually to be given to the best three final year students in the departments of Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Construction Management and Civil Engineering.  We welcome other sponsors who would like to motivate our students to get in touch with us to contribute to this worthy cause.

Comments are closed.