Message from The Dean

Welcome to the School of Nursing, College of Health Sciences, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology. The School is located at the main campus.
Nursing is one of the fast growing disciplines in the University. The training was started in JKUAT initially as one of the programs in the Institute of Tropical Medicine and Infectious Diseases (ITROMID) in 2011. Later in September, 2014 two departments namely General Nursing and Community Health and research in Nursing were established.
The School was fully established in April 2015 with four departments comprising of General Nursing, Midwifery, Community Health Nursing and Nursing Education, Leadership, Management and Research. Programs offered in the School of Nursing have expanded to include Master of Science in Nursing specialties and PhD in Nursing.
As a school we are committed to training nurses with high level knowledge, innovation and committed to service. Our programs are benchmarked with those of international Universities and nursing bodies. All our programs are accredited by both Nursing Council of Kenya (NCK) and Commission for University Education (CUE).
We believe that training works best in collaboration and partnership. We are open for consultation and feedback to produce a nurse to meet the ever evolving health and nursing needs locally, regionally and globally.
To the students, I encourage you to make use of every opportunity in our School during your training and wish you an enjoyable stay while in the university.
To our partners and collaborators, thank you for trusting to work with us. Together we will continually work to take nursing and health care to greater heights.